Message from the Chair

 November 10, 2017


Welcome to the SLOCDP – the official voice of the Democratic Party in San Luis Obispo County! We are a group of people dedicated to affecting positive change in our community by supporting Democratic candidates who work for social, economic, and environmental justice.   

With the 2018 mid-term elections ahead, the SLOCDP is actively engaging in educating individuals about their right to vote and to be represented by responsible leaders. We have many opportunities to be involved in the political process, from grass-roots organizing and coordinating community events to running for office or working on a local, state, or federal campaign.  

With the climate of individualism, mistrust, and nationalism being fostered by the current administration, the SLOCDP is working to inform our community and to support efforts for improving access to affordable housing, health care, education, and safe work environments. We have partnered with many local organizations and labor leaders to show up for one another.   

I hope you will take a moment to look through the list of clubs. In spite of our ‘small’ town, we have one of the most active Democratic counties in the state! Clubs are a great way to get involved in the political process and are located throughout the county. There are also clubs for the LGBTQ Community (Stonewall), college students (Cal Poly Dems), and Our Revolution (SLO Progressives.    

Many members have been working to support candidates who are running in 2018. Contact us to find out more about getting involved. We can also help you out if you would like to run for office or want to recruit a friend to do so.    

I hope you will join us in our grass-roots efforts to make this county a better place for everyone who calls it home – or is just visiting! We have the opportunity to make a huge change in 2018 – this purple district can turn blue with your help and engagement!                                                                                                   

                                                                                                                         Rosemary Wrenn Canfield, Chair